Islands Of Brazil


The territory of Brazil is mainly based on the mainland of South America. However, there are a few islands that are included within the official, political borders of this intriguing land. Some of these islands are:

Arquipélago de Fernando de Noronha
An archipelago refers to a cluster or chain of islands. This particular one comprises 21 individual islands and islets, all perched in the midst of the vast Atlantic Ocean. These are roughly 350 kilometres from the Brazilian shoreline and are part of the state of Pernambuco. The main island, Noronha, measures only 18.4 square kilometres, which is just over 7 square miles, in area.

At its widest area, this main island is 3.5 kilometres in width. Noronha makes up for 91% of the total area of all 21 islands combined. Interesting, this archipelago has 15 possible endemic floral species accredited to its name by the United Nations Environment Programme, as well as two endemic bird species.

The gorgeous Dolphin Bay in Fernando de Noronha, Brazil

Arquipélago de São Pedro e São Paulo (Saint Peter and Saint Paul Archipelago)
This archipelago consists of 15 individual islands and islets, the most significant of which include Belmonte, Challenger and Cabral. Their total area is only 15 square kilometres, or about 9.3 square miles. This cluster is also under the administration of the Pernambuco State of Brazil. These islands are official environmentally protected areas.

Atol das Rocas
Rocas Atoll is made up of the islands of Farol and Cemitério. Combined, these have an area of 0.36 square kilometres or 0.139 square miles. Rocas Atoll is part of the state of Rio Grande do Norte. The Atol das Rocas is a wildlife sanctuary and has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. These islands are flat, with the highest point being a sand dune of 6 metres (or 20 feet) high. An old lighthouse dating back to 1933 remains as testimony to times past.

Ilha de Boipeba (Isle of Boipeba)
As part of the Tinharé Archipelago, this island boasts unrivalled natural beauty. As such, it has been recognised as a Biosphere Reserve and World Heritage Site by UNESCO. It also has a complex history and heritage, having been one of the first settlements of Bahia during the early 16th century. Fishing continues to sustain the community, while tourism is becoming ever popular as an industry.

Ilha de São Luís (Isle of São Luís)
This island is made up of four cities, and has a total area of 1 410 square kilometres, which is equivalent to 544 square miles. Because of its size, the indigenous people of the island had called it Upaon-Açu, which translates literally to “big island”.

Ilha Grande
This island measures 193 square kilometres in area and is situated just off the Brazilian coastline of Rio de Janeiro State. Despite its size and close proximity to land, the island remains undeveloped, being loved and appreciated for its natural beauty. Many endangered species can be found on Ilha Grande. For this reason, the entire island now enjoys the status of a protected area. The Grande State Park is home to many of the beautiful and intriguing species of the island.

Other noteworthy islands belonging to the country of Brazil include:

Ilha de Maraca
Ilha de Santa Catarina
Ilha Itaparica
Ilha Trindade
Ilhabela archipelago
Ilha de São Sebastião
Ilhas Cagarras archipelago
Ilhas Martim Vaz archipelago
Vitória archipelago
Ilha de Vitória
Ilha de Marajó

This web site is in no way connected to any government agency in any shape or form.